Comfort Zone

So this Saturday, January 10th, I’ve somewhat volunteered myself to do something outside of my comfort zone.  I want to participate in Phoenix’s first No Pants Day! on the light rail,   As I’ve grown older I’ve grown accustom to closing myself off to not only strangers but to family and friends.  I don’t know why it happened but it has.  Participating in this event actually will make me vulnerable to everyone.   Sean’s not talking to me much about it so I’m guessing he does not want to participate but won’t tell me no.

I think a lot of it has to do with insecurity about my looks and how much I weigh.  If you ask me how much I weigh I’ll tell you, while I’m insecure about it I’m not ashamed of it.   How can I be ashamed of something that I  helped create?  It is after all my security blanket.   I don’t have to worry about the compliments, like Crystal you look hot! Well okay, my wonderful husband tells me that and well I like it when he does.   No sudden honking of horns when I walk down the street.   Some of my friends, who are absolutely beautiful talk about the stares and comments, I guess I tune them out because a strangers opinion of me doesn’t matter.  It’s what I think of myself.

As I’ve grown older I’ve taken myself out of my comfort zone a couple of times but I don’t do it very often.   It’s just easier to stay safe and warm inside myself and not let anyone in.

When my mother was a live she started doing things I would have never done in my 20’s in her 40’s.  I’m thinking I’m doing it as a tribute to her and realizing that sometimes taking a risk gives us the freedom to do other things that we wouldn’t do otherwise.

My husband the human social butterfly seems to have no problem dancing at hockey games, saying what comes to mind without the forethought to consider he may offend someone, while you are lucky to catch me dancing and singing inside my own house.   What happens to us as we grow older we no longer dance and sing like we did as kids.  I remember once at around the age of nine telling a family friend that I sang better than (great I’m really going to date myself) Tanya Tucker and I would sing Delta Dawn at the top of my lungs.   That song is still a favorite and now I actually know what the song means.

This week, I challenge everyone to do one  thing that takes them out of their comfort zone.  Eat lunch or see a movie by yourself maybe sing at the top of your lungs and don’t listen to what anyone says around you. You may find you actually have fun doing it.  Just find something simple that makes you somewhat uncomfortable and see if you can push yourself just little bit outside of it.

Happy Wednesday!  I’ll let you know if I stray out of my comfort zone on Saturday with the No Pants Day!  So stay tuned.

2 Comments

  1. Kelly said,

    January 7, 2009 at 3:36

    I’m proud of you Crystal!! I look forward to hearing all about No Pants Day! I will actually be in Phoenix that day! I have a 3 hour layover on my way to California. Take care and we miss you! XOXOXO

  2. Cj said,

    January 18, 2009 at 3:36

    I need to find something outside my comfort zone. Now that I’ve read this… I don’t know what that would be. I’m thinking…


Leave a Reply

